Skip to content

The Best Sausage Roll In Britain

January 21, 2016

Sausage rolls are one of the staples of Australian junk food, along with fish and chips and the noble meat pie. As part of my holiday, I decided to try to find the best sausage roll in Britain. I tried a sausage roll at pretty much every place we stayed, and I was fully expecting to find the winner somewhere in England since it’s something they’re supposed to be good at.

As a matter of fact, I did find a winner, a sausage roll that crushed all of the competition in a blaze of tasty goodness. However, the winner was not English, it was Scottish. It came from a bakery in Aviemore that we stopped at on our way to Cairngorm.

So, to Scotland, I say this: you have the best sausage rolls in Britain!

From → Musings

One Comment
  1. Nice article, you’re right about Scotland doing great sausage rolls. Not been to Aviemore but had several in other towns and all good. Also had a few in Australia as part of our little JWalking trip (https://jwalkingin.wordpress.com/) and found the best to be from Melbourne. No idea why. Good post.

Leave a comment